top of page

Who Let the Dogs Out?

FINLEY, BABY GIRL !!

My husband, Cowboy, and I got a new puppy, Finley. She is a sweetheart and very smart. We have had her for a little over a week and she is almost 3 months old. We have her house broke, leash trained, and so far she chews on just her toys, well most of the time anyway. She does have some separation issues, but they are getting better. She is a pretty girl and so soft. She loves her mommy and gives me kisses all the time.

PLAY TIME !!

We have been taking her to the dog park, so that she has some experience with other dogs of all sizes and ages. It has been good for her to interact with them and run & play. This keeps her active and happy and tires her out in the evenings so that she is not too rambunctious when we are winding down from the day.

This package, from Amazon,

is great has all different

types of toys to play with.

CHOMPER !!

She loves her chew toys, she has 6, more if you count all the sticks and leaves she chews up. I want her to eat healthy so I have been researching foods that she can & can not eat. I have also been taste testing her on the foods she can eat to see if she likes them.

Finley thinks dinner

would taste better out of

these bowls from Amazon

Remember, when feeding your pet new food to slowly transition them from their old food to the new, by mixing them together. Just a complete switch can cause tummy trouble for your fur baby.

Doggie Dinner (Crock-pot)

1 Heart (or any organ meat)

2 cups any other meat left over or freezer burnt

1/2 cup green beans

1/2 cup sliced carrots

1/4 cup parsnips

1/4 cup butternut squash (or any other squash)

1/2 cup greens (spinach, turnip greens, kale)

1 1/2 cups rice

5 cups water

Cook meat in 3 cups of water, do not add any seasonings. for 2 hours on low. Remove and let cool add veggies and rice mix then add meat back in. Cook on low for 6 to 8 hours. I let mine go overnight about 7 hours. You want the rice to be mushy so that it does not expand after being eaten and cause an upset tummy. After it has cooked let cool down and place into freezer bags or plastic containers. I had 2 gallon freezer bags & one container for the fridge.

Puppy: 1/2 cup dry food 1/4 cup Doggie Dinner, mix together and let our fur-baby enjoy. She gets this just once a day the other meals (she gets fed 3 times) she gets just dry kibble.

Older Dogs: I would use the Doggie Dinner as half of one serving. If they get fed twice a day, I would do normal dry food amount & 1/2 cup Doggie dinner at both feedings. Or you could do one feeding as just dry & the other the doggie dinner.

I love my crock pot,

like this one,

from Amazon.

CONFESSION !!

I would like to get Finley off of commercial dog food all together and just have her eat home cooked meals. IS this feasible or affordable I do not know. I will be talking to my vet about it.

I am not a vet and do not claim to know about the nutritional advantages of this. Any action you take is of your own free will. Please speak with your vet if you have any questions or concerns.

God Bless & Enjoy,

Tyra

bottom of page