top of page

JUMPED ON THE BANDWAGON


ELECTRIC PRESSURE COOKER !!

Most of you know it by the brand name "Instant Pot" ®. It is an electric pressure cooker that has taken the world by storm. Pressure cookers have been around FOR-EVER!! But, fell by the wayside back in the '80's. I remember my mom using a pressure cooker, many times, yet I never had. Not that I was scared as many are, I use a pressure canner, same concept bigger scale.

BAD RAP !!

Pressure cookers got a bad rap as being unsafe & outright dangerous. And they could be. IF & WHEN, the user did not follow directions and heed the warnings. Used correctly and they produced great tasting meals for many families for years.

NEW TECH !!

The new electric version does the same thing that the old stove top version does, but it is safer. It has fail safes built into it, so that the danger has been almost eliminated. I say almost, cause there is always someone who can figure out a way blow something up. The unit will shut down the heat if the pressure gets to high and it has a manual release button

WHAT CAN I COOK !!

Almost anything & everything...unless it needs to stay cold. If you check out Pinterest there are many recipes for them. So many that you could spend days maybe even weeks and only scratch the surface. I have made split pea soup, ham & bean soup and Osso Bucco in mine all with great success.

I made a breakfast casserole on a whim and need to work it out better before I consider it a success, it was good, just not great. I have a list of Instant Pot recipes on my Pinterest page that I will be working my way through.

Chicken Marsala

BBQ Ribs

Beef Gyro

Mongolian Chicken

Teriyaki Salmon

These are just a few, that will be made in the next few weeks for sure. But today, I am featuring the Rotisserie Chicken. As I prepared it, it smelled so GOOD !! I served this chicken with corn on the cob that was also cooked in the cooker while the chicken finished in the broiler. 5minutes on steam. YUMM!!

Electric Pressure Cooker

Rotisserie Chicken printer version

1 Whole Chicken (giblets removed)

Garlic powder

Onion powder

Italian seasoning

Seasoning salt

Black Pepper

Olive oil

Put the pressure cooker on sear and set timer for 15 minutes.

As it is heating up, remove all giblets from body cavity and rinse chicken inside an out. Remove all excess fat and skin from the chicken. Pat chicken dry and then let set for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes drizzle with oil and then sprinkle on spices. I mix all my spices together in a small jar.

Add a little bit of oil to the bottom of the pot place chicken breast side down and let sear for 5 minutes, do not mess with the chicken, just let it do its thing. After five minutes remove and flip the bird over and let the other side sear for 5 minutes.

After the searing remove the chicken and place the steaming rack in the bottom of

Before the Broiler.

the pan. Add 3/4 cup of water, a sprinkle of all the seasoning that we used as a rub on the chicken. (many recipes call for 1 to 1 1/2 cups of water. I cut back on the water to help keep the chicken from falling apart as it cooks.) Close lid and set the cooker to meat/stew for 20 minutes. After the chicken is done let cool down for 5 minutes before releasing the pressure.

During the cool down period of the pressure cooker, pre-heat the broiler. Check & make sure that the chicken is done internal temperature of 165°.

When the chicken comes out of the pressure cooker, place on a baking sheet with a rack and place under the broiler for 5 to 10 minutes to crisp up the skin.

CONFESSION !!

OH MY GOODNESS !!! This tasted just like rotisserie chicken from the deli. I ate way too much of it. We had it with corn on the cob, potato salad & mac salad (store bought cause I was lazy) and a biscuit.

God Bless & Enjoy !!

Tyra

bottom of page