top of page

Early Morning Canning


SLEEP WHERE ART THOU !!

I have a very bad sleeping schedule. 4 hours and I am up. I used to be an 8 hour girl. I would sleep for 8 hours and

wake feeling rejuvenated and great. Now if I get lucky, I sleep 6, but most of time after 4 I am wide awake. I have tried the laying there in the dark, after about 45 minutes I have to get up.

WHAT TO DO, WHAT TO DO ??

So when you are up at he very early hours of the morning what do you do..... well that depends on Cowboy. If he is still sleeping an most of the time he is, I get on my computer and talk with all of you.

But today Cowboy got up about an hour after me, so I decided to can up some sweet potatoes.

OH WHAT A SIGHT !!

I love seeing my jars of home-canned deliciousness sitting on my shelf. It is my version of art. Art that I created, get to share with others, and best of all, at some point I get to eat. How can you beat that. The art I created today was a little more time consuming, because they had to process for 90 minutes. It was so worth it in the end.

Canned Sweet Potatoes

(in syrup)

Canned Sweet Potatoes & Extra Syrup

5 lbs sweet potatoes (washed and cut into cubes, I did not peel mine)

3 cups white sugar

3 cups brown sugar

6 cups water

3 tsp Maple flavoring (optional)

Quart and pint jars, lids and bands (Sterliized)

Canning Tools

Pressure Canner

In a pot add water and sugar, place on stove and heat to a rolling boil. Set up pressure canner, fill with water (3 inches is what my directions say) and get heating up on the stove.

Make sure to have everything you need to start canning: Ladle, funnel, jar grabber, towels, paper towel soaked with vinegar, & de-bublling tool,

Add cut up sweet potatoes to jars. Pack in them in tightly. I add a few then tap the jar on my palm, so I get them to fall into all the small spaces, and repeat until full. Fill all jars. * I came out with 4 quarts.

Fill each jar with the sugar and water mixture, leaving 1 inch of head space. Debubble each jar, take the tool or any non metal flat item cleaned and sterilized and poke into the side of the jar and middle to release any air bubbles that are caught in there. Wipe the top rims of the jars with the paper towel & vinegar. Add Lid and rings. Do not over tighten the rings, they should be finger tight only. Place jars into canner.

Extra syrup?......can it also.

Process jars for 90 minutes. For my altitude I process my jars at 12 lbs of pressure, but be sure to check out what you need to safely process at for your area.

*Rule of thumb never have food come up into the neck of the jar.

CONFESSION !!

I broke a jar in my canner, it happens !! I lost all my creation into the water. The bottom came out of the jar. WHY? Many things contribute to this happening cool jar meets hot water, older jar, the jar was microwaved, or the jar had been dropped. You just clean up the mess and go on.

God Bless & Enjoy!!

Tyra

bottom of page