top of page

Holiday Happenings

BUSY BUSY BUSY !!

We all know the holidays are a very busy time. This year was very hectic for me, and I lost track of days, and the next thing I know it is a week before Christmas and I had a lot to do. I bought a few gifts, but most of mine were home canned. I got so busy that I did not even get to post the blogs that I had. So I will wait on those and get this one and another one out before the New Year, so that you can make these for your celebration.

FAMILY TRADITIONS !!

Most of us have our own traditions at the Holidays and we are no different. At noon on Christmas Eve we have a Swedish meal of "Dopp i Grytan" Dip in the kettle. After the meats are boiled for the meal you dip your bread in the broth. We have always had pork roast, beef roast and beef tongue boiled, then s few spices are added to the broth. it is gently simmered on the stove, but the main attraction for me is the bread.

GRANDMA"S BREAD

My Grandma Blede, Goldie,

is probably the main reason that I love to cook. I always remember that she was cooking or canning, or baking everyday. The 2 items that I remember most are the Swedish Rye Bread that was made every Christmas and her Angel Food Cake. I have not been adventurous enough to try her Angel Food Cake, but I love making her bread. Every year that I have been able to I have helped make this. The recipe makes a lot of bread 5 loaves. We usually make 3 loaves and the rest into rolls.

Swedish Rye Bread printed version

Notes: Grandma only used Brer Rabbit Dark Molasses. Caraway seeds are not on this recipe, but were always added, I would add 1/4 to 1/2 cup, depending on your preference, before the flour.

1st rise

1 st Rise

2nd Rise

All Baked

The rolls never made it to the photo. They were taste tested by everyone.

CONFESSION !!

My all time favorite way to eat this bread is TOASTED and SLATHERED with LOTS of BUTTER.

Just like Grandma used to.

God Bless & Enjoy !!

Tyra

bottom of page