top of page

Fallin' Leaves


IT'S FALL !!

The weather is getting chilly, most mornings it is 30° or colder. Many of you will gasp and say "Chilly that is down right cold!", But here in Nebraska we know that it is going to get a whole lot colder. In a month or so our temps will be closer to -0° than to 30° so to us this is just chilly. Out and about you still see people in shorts, flip flops, or short sleeve shirts. I will even admit to it, it is just the norm here.

COMFORT FOODS ON CHILLY DAYS !!

Baked breads, cookies, casseroles, stews, and soups, it is what my mind turns to at this time of year. I start scouring my mind and cookbooks (I just have a few, over 20 under 100, somewhere in there. I love to collect them read through them get ideas. I come by it honestly, my dad is the same way!!) See what happens, I can talk about my cookbooks all day. Now back to the comfort foods. I wake up in the mornings and start mental inventory of my pantry and freezers to start thinking about what to make. It is hard to decide, do we go hot fromthe oven casserole, house enveloping smell of cookies, or raid the fridge dump it a pot soup.

RAID THE FRIDGE !!

I love going to the fridge and figuring out what to make for a simple fast soup. Leftovers make the best soup, their flavors are already developed, so you do not have to cook for a long time, mostly just heat and eat. So let me introduce you to my left-over make-over soup of the day, and one that I will make many more time in the future.

This is a rich and creamy, warm you up, want another bowl kinda soup!!

I will not judge if you do.

BBC Soup

(Beer, Brats & Cheese)

Click for printer friendly version

​

1 bottle Beer (one you would drink)

1 package of beer brats

​

1/2 chopped onion

1/2 chopped green pepper

1 cup corn

​

salt & pepper

1 tbsp garlic powder

1 tbsp onion powder

2 tbsp salt free seasoning (like Mrs. Dash)

1 tbsp butter

2 tbsp flour

2 cups milk

2 cups shredded cheese or 8 oz Velveeta

2 tbsp parsley

​

Boil Brats in beer for 10 minutes, (choose a little larger pot than you would normally need cause will we be making the soup in it) . Then remove brats and brown in a skillet, keep the beer you boiled the brats in. Remove from skillet when all browned and before the skin pops.

Add 2 cups water to the skillet and bring to a boil scrapping off all the brown bits from the bottom. Dump into the pot that you boiled the brats in. Add the veggies and simmering.

In the Skillet that you browned the brats in add butter, until melted then blend in flour, creating a roux, let cook for a couple of minutes until it smells a little nutty. (this cooks the flour and adds more flavor to the dish, but do not let the mixture get too dark light golden brown is the color it should be). Now stir in the milk and bring to a boil stirring the whole time. When the flour & milk mixture comes to a boil shut off heat and add the spices and cheese. Stir until the cheese is all melted.

Add the cheese sauce to the pot of beer and water. Dice brats into bite size pieces and add to the pot. Simmer for 20 minute to let all the flavors meld together.

If soup is too thick you can add more milk or water to thin in out. If it is not cheesy enough for you add more cheese. Remember you are the one eating this so make it the way you like it, without onions if that is not something you like, add some hot sauce to you bowl if you want.

​

** Make-Over Left-Overs:

You are cooking up brats for dinner or for the party, just keep the liquids in the fridge until the next day, heat them up add veggies. Then proceed with the recipe. It is a great way to use up the left over brats. If brats were all eaten you have a great beer cheese soup with added flavor, We had macaroni & cheese with our brats, so I added left over mac & cheese in the bowl heated it up a bit in the microwave and then added the soup on top. OH MY GOODNESS! That should be outlawed!

CONFESSION !!

Cowboy wanted another brat when I made these and I told him no!! The package only had 5 in it and I knew I wanted 3 for this recipe. You should have seen the look I GOT. But, when we had the soup later, he forgave me.

God Bless & Enjoy

Tyra

bottom of page