top of page

The BOYS!!

MY LIFE AS AUNT T !!

I have 6 nephews & 1 niece, whom I love very much. Corbin, Lincoln, Ryan, Chris, Chloe, Dayne, & Logan, in age order. Only 1 is left in high school, all the others are young adults in college or living on their own. This weekend I spent time with all the boys. It was opening weekend of rifle deer season. So it was 3 days of food & hunting. So, Cowboy & I drove to mom & dad's and stayed the weekend, I was in charge of the meals. Dad had the menu planned out, I just had to execute it.

DO YOU NEED MORE FOOD ??

Those words are uttered about every 3 minutes when we are all together. Food is available at all times. This weekend we had pancakes, muffins. cinnamon rolls,biscuits & gravy, egg casserole, scrambled eggs for breakfast. Lunches consisted of soups, Chicken noodle & cheesy Potato, chili, hamburger sandwiches, and beef 7 noodles. Suppers were pork sandwiches, potato casserole, tacos, & then left overs. Then there were snacks & sweets, brownies, salads, chips, puppy chow, & dips. No one went hungry.

I AM STUFFED !!

I have been home for over 24 hours and I still feel full. i am not sure that I will need to eat for the next 24 hours either. So, I have been trying to figure out what recipe to use since I had so many to choose from this weekend. I decided to share one that utilizes simple ingredients to make a meal to feed a crowd. Hamburger sandwiches, basically a version of a sloppy joe, without a tomato (bbq) sauce. 2 lbs of ground beef usually only feeds 8 people (1/4 pound burger each), but this could serve up to 12 people with the exact same ingredients.

Photo courtesy of Pixabay: RyanMcGuire

Hamburger Sandwich

2 lbs ground beef

1/2 medium onion

1 tbsp garlic salt

1 tbsp seasoning salt

1/2 tbsp pepper

1/2 tbsp onion powder

2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1/2 cup chopped pickles or dill relish

1/2 cup Ketchup

2 tbsp mustard

2 tbsp mayonnaise or salad dressing

2 cups shredded cheese or 8 oz velveeta

1/4 cup milk if using shredded cheese

Brown hamburger, onions, & spices together drain off grease return to skillet, add in the pickles, ketchup, mustard, & mayonnaise. Stir and cook for 5 minutes add in cheese and milk if needed. Stir until cheese is melted. If you want the mixture to be a little thinner, you just need to add a little more milk or water to thin it out. Just remember that you may have to add a little more seasoning to this also.

I know that it seems odd to have the pickles mixed in, and if you do not want to or have someone who does not like pickles than leave them out, but they really do add to the flavor when they are mixed in.

Serve on toasted buns or toasted bread with toppings that you would put on a regular burger. Add chips or baked fries and you have a fast meal that stretches out to feed more people.

CONFESSION !!

I ate 2 of these with extra mayo and horseradish on my bun. YUMMY.

God Bless & Enjoy !!

Tyra


bottom of page