top of page

The Magical Fruit

BEANS, BEANS, THE MAGICAL !!

Did you finish that little rhyme in your head? I do just about anytime I am writing or talking about beans. I am not a fan of them. But, I am the odd one out in my family. Everyone loves them and the soups and dishes that they are in. I keep trying to eat them, but it just is not something that I can do. But, because everyone else loves them I cook with them. Photo by Pexels at Pixabay.

ON THE SHELF !!

I have noticed that on the grocery store shelf the cans are getting a little more expensive all the time (as is everything). The dry beans are still pretty inexpensive, so I decided that I would just can

my own. Save some a few dollars, know the ingredients in the jar, and add some flavor to them. So, I took to YouTube to watch videos of some of my favorite canners. I think Cowboy got sick of watching all the different shows on canning beans. And then I did it my own way, anyhow. Photo by ccjpeggy at Pixabay.

This storage unit is great for your full jars of home canned foods. The drawer will store your canning utensils and such.

CHANGE OF PLANS !!

I wasn't planning on doing the beans different than all the videos I watched, it just sort of happened. I was getting ready to can up the turkey broth and the ham broth that I had, there was not as much as I thought, maybe 2 or 3 pints of each was all. So I had a thought why not can up my beans in that broth. So I dug out my beans and sorted through them and washed them off, and started canning them.

DRY CANNED BEANS !!

Cowboy tried a jar that had cooled for 12 hours. He said that they were great and little on the firm side, but that is what I was going for, because they will be cooked more in the soups or dishes that they are in. This recipe DOES NOT follow the National Center for Home Food Preservation, that link is here:

http://nchfp.uga.edu/how/can_04/beans_peas_shelled.html

But, I feel that the research that I did, and the resources that I follow on the process, that this will be a safe product when finished.

THIS LODGE CAST IRON POT IS GREAT FOR CHILI & STEWS

Beans (Dry - No Soak) Print

1 16 oz package of dry beans

6 cups broth or water

4 tsp salt

Pint canning jars

CONFESSION !!

I wish I had a video of my beans so that I could narrate it in my best Duke voice from the Bush's Baked Beans commercials and say "Roll that beautiful bean footage."

God Bless & Enjoy !!

Tyra

bottom of page