top of page

duck, duck, GOOSE !!

GIFTS OF GEESE !!

I love my neighbor !! He is a widowed old man, with a heart of gold. he and his little dog live across the street from us. I do not even know his name, I just call him the "Little ole Man".

He is one of those people who never made an enemy, all who meet him just love him. We met him when we moved into our new home. He delivered us some blackberries, 2 flats of them. Then he stopped by with other goodies, and about every 2 weeks or so he will drop off a box of something at our door.

EXCHANGING GOODIES !!

I have made many different items with the food that he has given me. I always try to give some back to him. I have given him a jar of apple butter, canned turkey, and will give him some french onion soup that I have canned up. A post will be coming on that soon. But his most recent gift were 2 Canada geese. He wanted legs and thighs & a little breast meat. So we gave the legs & thighs and 1 breast which left us with 3 breasts.

GOOSE BREAST DILEMMA !!

I do not know what to do with the breasts that we now have. So, I jumped on the informational highway and googled it. BBQ in the slow cooker, wrap in bacon and slow cook, or jerky seemed to be the main ways to cook goose breast. I love jerky, so that is what we decided to do. My dad has a wonderful jerky recipe, & I thought that I had it, but I can not find it. So, I improvised and then did 2 small batches of different flavors.

This would have made the

process so much easier

Jerky Marinade

1 cup water

1/2 cup Worcestershire sauce

1 cup soy sauce

1 tbsp rice wine vinegar

1 tbsp salt (kosher or canning)

2 tbsp garlic powder

2 tbsp onion powder

1 tbsp black pepper

1 tbsp liquid smoke

OPTIONAl :

HOT & SPICY

2 tbsp hot sauce add to liquids

2 tbsp red pepper flakes sprinkle on top

SWEET BBQ:

3 tbsp honey add to liquids

2 tbsp bbq dry rub sprinkle on top

Slice meat into 1/4 inch slices, pound out slices, & then add to a zip-lock bag. Add marinade in with the sliced meat and let sit 24 hours. The marinade flavors, but also tenderizes the meat so the longer it is in there Remove from marinade and place directly on the drying racks. If you like it spicier this is when you can sprinkle with red pepper flakes or crack black pepper over the meat.

Dehydrator: I have a 12 shelf dehydrator that I use I loaded the shelves and set at 155° after 3 hours I turned the pieces of jerky over and moved trays around. Let it go another 3 hours and checked it again, I flipped the meat and moved trays.

Oven: you can also do this in an oven on the baking rack with a cookie sheet under it or you can use bamboo skewers to hang the strips of meat. Oven needs to go on the lowest setting and the door needs to be cracked to let air circulate through. Prop open with a kitchen towel folded up and placed in the door.

Smoker: Or you can smoke it. Follow directions for your smoker to achieve the perfect jerky.

You can buy jerky seasoning

mixes also, there are many

to choose from..

CONFESSION !!

This was a lot easier than I expected it to be, I want to make more jerky now, so watch out. I think next time I will vacuum seal the meat and marinades. This will not last long it is too good.

God Bless & Enjoy !!

Tyra

bottom of page