top of page

HAPPY NEW YEAR !!

WELCOME 2018 !!

Another New Year is here. Did you make any resolutions? How did last years resolutions go? I have a resolution for this year, to cut back on food waste. How do I plan on doing that? I am not 100% sure that I can, but I am going to give it a go.

RESOLUTION SOLUTION !!

I watch YouTube videos on food preservation, canning and dehydrating. I love them and can watch them for hours and hours. Watching these people utilize so much more of their food has made me realize how much I was throwing away. Many fellow bloggers are doing a Pantry Challenge this month. I decided to get in on it too.

PANTRY CHALLENGE !!

Utilize what you have on hand Try not to spend money on groceries, except fresh fruits & dairy products if necessary. A blog is coming on this.

Step 1: Inventory what you have in the freezer & on your shelves.

(Wow did I find some great meat n my freezer!! Steaks, salmon, & shrimp) Plus some freezer casseroles that are already to heat & eat. LOVE THOSE!!!

Step 2: Plan a menu.

Many are doing this for the whole month, but I am doing it differently. I am not scheduling what I will eat each day, but I am making a list of 31 meals that I will prepare this month.

Then, I added a step because of items that I found in my freezer that I want to store in jars.

Step 3: Preserve food for storage.

I found frozen bags of chili from different times that I have made it, not enough to can at that time, but when putting them all together I have 6 pints. Plus I found a gallon bag plus containers of chicken taco soup that I will also be canned. I have several packages of hamburger so I am planning on canning up some meatballs (1st time doing that).

And the 10# bags, 3 of them, of chicken leg quarters that I plan on canning. I am also going to stock up on my dehydrated foods.

EATING OUT OF THE PANTRY !!

I have been canning many different items this year. Now that I am doing this challenge, there are many more items that I want to can up. Plus others that I want to make more of. Watching videos and seeing pics posted on Facebook, I realize what a small inventory I have. Some peoples canning pantry's are 1,000 jars or more. HOLEY MOLEY!! I do not have the space for that, but I will definitely be boosting up my stock of canned items.

One thing that will always be on my shelves is my French Onion Soup.

FRENCH ONION SOUP (Pressure Canning) Printer version

CONFESSION !!

I was asked what is my favorite thing that I canned in 2017 recently, and this was my answer. Then I had someone ask me for my recipe and realized that I had not posted it yet. SO here it is.

God Bless & Enjoy !!

Tyra


bottom of page